Our Hippie Dippie Easter

Standard

IMG 2160

–Otis says Happy Easter in his adorable Easter bow tie–

You should see the amount of projects piling up around here, finished and unfinished. There are so many special events happening all at once. One friend has a birthday next week and really wants one of the Secret Compartment Wooden Book Boxes. Another friend’s wedding shower is coming up in just a couple short months, and I’ve already had to go back to the drawing board on my gift because I’d be ashamed to show you all what an epic crochet fail I had (twice). Then i have another friend who recently found out she’s about to have a baby girl (so exciting!), which means dozens of baby projects (I already have two blankets in progress). So many projects, so little time!

When Easter rolled around, it was nice to take a day off to do something different for a change. For the first year ever, my family didn’t do the mad dash cleaning and cooking spree. Instead, we packed up some finger foods and sandwich goodies, and we were off to the lake for an Easter picnic. Mister and myself made these excellent “Pig Skins” – potato boats with pulled pork inside. Delicious! (I apologize for iPod photos here, I didn’t pull out my fantastic camera until the picnic, and by then the pig skins were gobbled up!)

IMG 2135

We all went on a hike around the lake with my little niece toting all of her bug catching equipment I’d picked out for her family Easter basket – the one that doesn’t come from the bunny. As excited as she was to wave around her little net and try to catch butterflies, she wasn’t nearly as excited when we spotted this millipede creeping through the leaves.

Original 26

I am pretty proud of her though. When we had hiked for awhile and everyone else wanted to turn back, she wanted to keep on exploring. She is just too cute.

Original 57

When we got home, Mister and I figured the weather was still perfect enough for a little tie dye extravaganza. We filled up the bottles, tied up some shirts, and set to work! It’s been almost a year since our last Hippie Tie Dye Adventure.

Original 62

Original 64

Original 65

Here’s Mister hard at work on a splatter painted shirt:

Original 68

Even the paper towels we used to clean up the mess looked neat and psychedelic, so we dried them out to reuse later in some project.

Original 69

All in all, I think the shirts turned out pretty cool. Wish mine had had a little less white, but Mister wrapped them a little too tight. I won’t even show you our epic  fail at tie dyeing the big fluffy robes I’d wanted to dye then embroider. Needless to say, those will need to be redone. The shirts however are ready to be worn in all their hippie glory.

Original 76

Hope your Easter was as much fun as ours! Oh, and here’s a peek at the Easter basket I made for Mister. You can never go wrong with wine 😉

IMG 2157

Leave a Reply

