Fraternity Secret Compartment Wooden Book Box

Standard

Axn box inside

I have a whole lot of respect for Mister’s fraternity, an ever-expanding group of great guys that I am proud to know and call friends. Going into college, I’d only ever heard of Alpha Chi Nu (aka – AXN – aka – Archon) because my Uncle is a proud alum. I had come into college with the expectation that all Greeks were either drunks or sluts, and I was really proven wrong when I met my friend Nikki, who introduced me to sorority life. In the fall of 2008, I decided to pledge her sorority, Zeta Theta Chi, and I guess I can thank that for introducing me to Mister. Part of my pledging included meeting and getting a picture with each pledge of every organization. Lucky for me, Mister decided to pledge the same time I did, and I finally got my chance to talk to that cute guy in my Zoology class.

216091 1038272803095 1413750071 30109051 5575 n

How’s that for old school? Check out those braces. šŸ™‚

Anyway, we both went on to become active members of our respective organizations (and also “Little Bro” and “Little Sis” to each other’s organizations), and Greek life is very near and dear to our hearts. Even though we’re both alumni now, we still try to actively participate with our brothers and sisters and still like to get/make new memorobilia. That being the case, I couldn’t resist doing something Archon related for Mister once I found an adorable wooden sheep (the Archon mascot) at the local craft store. A little more browsing led me to the wooden letters and this fantastic wooden book-shaped box. I fiddled around with it for awhile, trying to decide how it opened since there were obviously hinges, and found that the cover opens up from the edge of the spine to reveal the perfect hiding place for something flask-sized – or objects not related to drinking ;).

I covered inside and out with many coats of a golden yellow paint, and I attached the sheep cutout and the letters with hot glue to the front book cover, the side that opens.

Axn box front

Down the side, I painted Mister’s last name, the Archon crest, and the symbolic Roman numeral for thirteen.

Axn box side

Ā 

Ā 

Lastly, I knew there was a Latin phrase of some importance to the fraternity, but Mister couldn’t remember the proper spelling. After asking around, I finally got the phrase I was looking for, and I freehanded the lettering on to the back cover (not very well, I might add).

Axn box back

Since posting the pictures, Mister’s secret compartment book box has become quite the hit with his brothers. Looks like I’ll be doing another one very soon for a lucky brother’s birthday. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

