Yarn Wreath

Standard

IMG 3018

After seeing so many pictures of creative variations of a yarn wreath, I finally decided to make my own. I knew the colors that I wanted and how I wanted it to look, but was clueless as to how to put it together. When I’d ordered some styrofoam wreath forms online, I was disappointed to discover that the wreath forms were actually flat on all sides – not at all the look I was going for. I wanted the nice, round, traditional wreath. The wreath forms were then put to the side to be reevaluated for future crafts. Back to the drawing board, I started looking for other options. While browsing the aisles of Walmart, my dad actually made the suggestion – foam insulated door stoppers. Having no clue what he meant, we left the craft department and headed over to home repair – not a place I spend a lot of time browsing. There, I found those foam insulated door stoppers and was even more thrilled that they cost less than $3 for (I believe) three of them. Fantastic!

During an afternoon while Mister was at work, I got down to business putting together my little yarn wreath creation. I bent the foam insulation into the circle shape and used my packing tape to secure it in place. With my glue gun on its lowest setting, I set to work winding my brown yarn all around the wreath, securing every few inches with a dab of glue. Readers! – Be careful to really only use a dab. Even on low low low heat, the foam still got a little melty.

IMG 3017

 

My crochet roses are the same ones that you can learn to do by clicking this link to my blog post that refers to my flowered headband how-to. They are also attached with hot glue.

IMG 3020

The little flowers are crocheted by putting 5 3-chain stitch loops into a magic circle and creating double crochet petals using the same method as the above roses. The buttons are then glued into the center. The wooden letter was another Walmart score, and is also the first letter of Mister’s last name, as this wreath hangs in his front window.

The entire wreath was put together in one afternoon, and I’m so happy with the way it turned out. I can’t wait to make more wreaths very soon, especially some that are themed for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

