Doggy-Sized Mad Hatter Crochet Hat

Standard

It’s time I share with you my absolute favorite bit of crochet work that I’ve done recently. Sure, other crafts were finished before this and have yet to be posted to the blog…but I can’t wait! The cuteness contained in the craft has me bursting with excitement. Prepare yourself for an adorable overload!

IMG 3213

Don’t you just LOVE that face? Believe me, underneath that humiliation, he loves Mommy for all the dress-up she subjects him to.

So I’m sure now that you’ve seen it, you want to make your own, right? Easy schmeezy! While browsing Pinterest, I found a lovely little pic of a crochet top hat that was meant for newborns. Now at this point in time I’m not into having any newborns other than the furry variety, but I knew there was some potential here. So, I followed the link to I’m Topsy Turvy, and not only found the pattern for this lovely top hat, but also a really fantastic blog that I’m now constantly stalking. Be sure to check it out yourself!

Now, being a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland, I could think of only one top hat I would want to replicate – Mad Hatter’s. Following the pattern, I made the hat top and the underside which attaches once you have stuffed the hat for stability. I know that in this house somewhere I have AT LEAST three massive bags of fiber fill. Could I find them? NO. My alternative? Cotton balls. Works absolutely the same.

The orange band was just a chain long enough to fit around the hat and single crochet on top. I connected the ends, and then sewed it on to the hat with a yarn needle.
The size ticket is a leftover piece of felt quickly embroidered with some green floss.
Before attaching the underside of the hat I sewed a loop of elastic together and placed it inside the hat. I then attached the underside to the hat with the yarn needle.

Otis is a bit fussy about wearing it, since it’s still a little big for him. Plus, he’s not a huge fan of elastic. He’ll come to terms with it soon though, cause Mommy is planning a whimsical fun photoshoot involving an oversized teacup and this adorable Mad Hatter hat. Stay tuned and stay crafty, my friends! 🙂

IMG 1875

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

