State Map Fridge Magnets

Standard

IMG 2857

 

You’re about to learn one of my most embarrassing secrets, but I have to share it so that you understand why this craft was so fantastic and brilliant for me. Don’t laugh! Deep breath. Here it is: I know absolutely nothing about geography. Seriously, nothing. nada. ZIP! It’s a sad truth that I’ve come to realize, but I’m not alone. I’ve asked others that I’ve graduated with, and the truth is…we just were never taught. When it comes to the U.S., we were given a list of states and capitals to memorize, but we were never shown where they were on a map. Perhaps it’s not really a surprise then that I went through most of my teenage years believing Alaska was an island ( YES, you may laugh at that. Go ahead.). It’s terribly sad, but whenever we saw Alaska on a map, it was in it’s own seperate box just like Hawaii. No map ever showed the land connecting to anything. Epic Fail, I know. It’s a running joke for my best friend and I that we must alert the other whenever one of us learns something new about geography. So this is why I devised this fantastic craft as a gift for her (and also had to make one for myself!)…

All it took was a trip to the toy store for a children’s puzzle of the United States, some magnet strips, and a lot of patience with hot glue. I fitted the back of each puzzle piece with a cut-to-size magnet and hot glued it on (thus, no longer having finger prints – thanks, hot glue!). When it was all done, I attempted to put the puzzle together on my fridge without looking at the picture. Sadly, that did not last long before I had to take a peek.

IMG 2855

So what if I didn’t realize New Jersey’s bubble was upside down until after the picture was taken and the puzzle pieces taken down? Deal with it.  

IMG 2858

Sarah’s reaction was priceless, as only one whose knowledge of geography is as limited as mine could be. Maybe now we can learn a thing or two, especially about those pesky west coast states that are so hard to remember.

About creativechronicle

I enjoy crafting with all kinds of mediums, and I also love to cook. I use my blog as a method of remembering all the creative projects I constantly have going on as well as memorable meals and personal rants. I also have a wonderful Mister who is always assisting in these projects and many adorable furbabies who pretend to help.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

