Meditation…..or not…

Standard

IMG 0879

 

A few weeks ago, I stumbled across Jamie Ridler Studios. I’m always looking for inspiration from other creative individuals, and I can’t even begin to tell you about all the wealth of inspiration that can be found within her blog. It’s filled with beauty, magic, and more than a few prompts to get your creative juices flowing. What I found to be extra exciting about the blog though was that, when you sign up for her newsletter, Jamie includes a free guided meditation in your welcome email.

Meditation has always been something I have been incredibly curious about. What isn’t appealing about a relaxed state of mind? The ability to free yourself from worries and concerns? Unfortunately, as hard as I try, I find it completely impossible. Whenever I close my eyes and start to relax, that’s when the engine of my brain immediately fires up. It’s like my brain is filled with what I like to call “thought-vomit”, anything that can come up, WILL come up. Try to focus on clearing my mind and automatically insecurities creep in or worries about what I may have forgotten during the day. Believe me, it couldn’t be more irritating.

My resolution? Keep trying. I’m not one to give up after a failed first try. I’m determined that through the resources provided by Jamie Ridler and a few other blogs I’ve been following, I will eventually get the hang of meditation. I will gain control of my own thoughts. I will obtain the peace of mind that I crave. 

(Oh, and as for Jamie’s Wishcasting Wednesday – What do you wish to let go of? I wish to let go of my own insecurities and strained trust concerns. Bear with me, folks.)

 

 

12 responses »

  1. Meditation is a wonderful method for relaxing. Even just 5-10 minutes of breathing deeply, and focusing your attention on the breath can be so beneficial.

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

    • I’m sure I’ll eventually get the hang of it. I’ve heard about so many benefits it can bring, and I really want to be involved in that. Thank you so much for your comment! As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

    • Aw thank you so much! This was my first time participating in the Wishcasting Wednesday. I’m amazed at the love and support I have been receiving from other bloggers. Can’t thank you enough! As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  2. I’ve always found meditation challenging, too. I’ve found my meditation is going outside for a jaunt – it empties my mind because I have to think about breathing and taking in the beauty around me.

    As you wish for yourself, I wish also for you.

Leave a Reply

