Take a Leap, Take a Risk

Standard

I feel as if I’m hitting my mid-life crisis about 30 years too early. I suddenly don’t really have a plan for myself or what I’m going to do with my future. In the area I’m in, there’s nothing really suited to the degree I earned. In fact, now I’m actually looking at going back to school. Mister sort of inspired this thought when he wanted to check out the culinary school in this area, since he’s considering switching career tracks. Before I went to college, I desperately wanted to go to culinary school and learn to be a chef. Unfortunately, there wasn’t anyplace nearby that offered that. Until now. During the 4 years I was at college, a culinary school was opened up less than 10 minutes from my home. I started looking into the cost of everything for Mister, and it suddenly hit me that this wouldn’t be out of the question for me. I could really afford to go back and achieve my dream. Mister loves the idea of us doing this together, taking the classes and eventually working together on our own business. I truly love the thought of that, but at the same time I question my abilities in a kitchen. I know I’ve always been a good cook and people always really enjoy my food, but compared to the way Mister cooks, I hate to admit I’m mediocre. He is truly so talented in the kitchen. So here I am, stuck. Do I take the risk and start over by heading back to school? Or stay treading water trying to figure out a new direction? I’ve got some heavy thinking to do, and I’m sure my journal will be hearing the brunt of it.

DSC02972

DSC02975DSC02978

(Nifty tidbit – Try using a little bit of clear coat nail polish on different elements in your journal pages. The pictures here don’t do it justice, but it creates such a neat shiny shell effect.)

“Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore.” – Andre Gide

Leave a Reply

