Bargains, Birthdays, and Bragging Rights!

Standard

It’s been a jumbled mess over here at the Creative Chronicle homestead. Let’s just say there are multiple projects that are currently works in progress. I like having a lot on my plate, but I feel better when I can start checking the completed items off my list. Hopefully, that will start happening soon…then I can share them all with you.

There are a few things I would like to share with you though. First and foremost, my crafty bargains that I’m super pumped about. Unfortunately, our local Borders, like all other Borders across the country, is being shut down. I was at a loss (until it was reported Books-a-Million would be moving into the space shortly thereafter). There is one upside from the shut down though, markdowns! Unfortunately, there weren’t very many worthwhile deals while I was there, since they were attempting to drag out their stay till at least September and so better bargains will happen then. One thing I was very excited about though was 40% off magazines. I’ve always enjoyed going to bookstores and looking at any of the Stampington publications. I say “looking” because unfortunately I can’t normally blow $15 on a magazine. At 40% off though? I decided to treat myself to Art Journal and Somerset Life. Additionally I picked up a bargain book on paper crafting that had even more marked down than the $1.99 pricetag, and I picked up a set of 70 mini fibre pen markers (perfect for journaling on the go) for less than $5.

DSC02644

After Borders, I couldn’t resist the massive banners proclaiming the sale at Michael’s, so I popped right in and out for less than $10. What a steal! Two sets of alphabet stamps, two ink pads, 3 blank canvas panels, some nifty new yarn, and new knitting needles! Huzzah!

DSC02648

Moving on…this past weekend was my sister’s birthday. Remember in Easy Apron how I said I had picked up two of those preprinted pattern aprons? The rooster apron was perfect for my sister since it matches the decorations in her kitchen. I fired up the sewing machine, and here were the results:

DSC02655

Not too bad for a quick birthday present fix. Now what about those bragging rights, you ask? What in the world should I be bragging about? Well, you had to know it had something to do with Mister, right? He’s the sweetest, and I just have to brag on him a little. He got ahold of my journal this week while I was at work and left me something heartwarming to read.

DSC02658

If you can read his chickenscratch, you know I have every reason to brag on him. He’s quite the romantic. 🙂

Time to get back to the grindstone though. Several projects coming up soon!

Leave a Reply

