Mindset

Standard

I am so behind on uploading this piece in my journal it’s not even funny. After doing a discussion on fixed and growth mindsets in Creative Journal, I decided to do a more visual interpretation of what we had covered.

IMG_0823

A fixed mindset is when you believe that your qualities are carved into stone, and you feel the need to continuously prove yourself. IQ is everything, position in the class is everything, and you don’t take risks that may potentially put those positions in jeopardy. Fixed mindsets fear change and look for praise at their success to feel a sense of superiority. “Nothing ventured, nothing lost!”

IMG_0825

A growth mindset cultivates basic qualities through effort. Everyone can change and grow with application and experience. Growth mindsets thrive during challenges. They are open to learning from failures, disappointments, and criticism. They are aware of their abilities and weaknesses. Growth mindsets also look for new opportunities to learn and collaborate. “Nothing ventured, nothing gained!”

IMG_0826

While I found that personally I’ve spent my entire life as a fixed mindset, I was deeply curious as to how a person might go about moving from fixed into growth. The answer, I was told, was through the following:
Deep Practice – training to be great. Michael Jordan wasn’t always the greatest basketball player, but he spent at least 5 hours a day practicing to one day be the best.
Ignition – finding something that really lights your fire and really losing yourself in it so that you become driven to practice and devote yourself.
Master Coaching – find someone who is great at what you want to do, and learn from them.

IMG_0828

One response »

  1. Love this! I have done so much more with growth mindset. I care even less now about pleasing someone besides myself and am proud of what I’ve accomplished in the last few years 🙂

Leave a Reply

