Burning Bridges

Standard

Have you ever been so caught up in something or overwhelmingly busy when something you see will just strike you and you have to pause whatever you are doing to contemplate it. Then, when you do contemplate it, you see it for what it is and you see yourself in it. That moment where you go, “That’s ME…That’s where I’m AT.” It can be something relatively simple, yet it speaks volumes.

I had a moment quite like that today. Life has been a struggle lately, and all of my time is caught up in my senior portfolio work (due this week) that I’m constantly losing sleep over. I took a moment to check my facebook newsfeed, and what I found was a new picture Nikki Sixx had posted of a piece of artwork someone had given him. All it said was, “May the bridges I burn light the way.” …I read those words and suddenly – brain explosion. That’s ME…That’s where I’m AT!

I’ve turned my back on everything that has brought me down. There were times when I questioned whether it was the right thing to do or not, but then there would be clear reminders of why there was no going back. I’m burning that bridge, and I have a lot better to look forward to ahead of me. It’s already starting to light my way, and I can see where I’m headed, I just had to get past a few stepping stones first.

Of course, this was such a grand idea to me, that I wanted to record it to later reflect on it. Unfortunately, time is of the essence, and I couldn’t devote a lot of time to recording the quote in an elaborate page, but I did quickly grab some of those fun soft pastels and then bright white acrylic paint. Simple, but a great reminder of where I’m at and where I’m going.

IMG_0755

Also, I’d like to give everyone a great big THANK YOU. Just the other day, this site reached over 500 hits. It’s really remarkable to me since I started out this blog just to keep it to myself, and I still relatively do…but it has actually reached so many of you. It’s a pretty spectacular idea to me! So, thanks!

“If you haven’t the strength to impose your own terms upon life, you must accept the terms it offers you.”
– T.S. Eliot

4 responses »

  1. You are such an inspiration to me. I love how much we think alike and act alike. ❀ you best friend πŸ™‚

    person below me: i totally play minecraft!

Leave a Reply

