Finger Knitting aka I can’t sleep!

Standard

I couldn’t resist posting again tonight after discovering this nifty trick – finger knitting! It’s adorable and so simple. I can’t believe I didn’t know about it before. Through some late night browsing I discovered this youtube video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOqKopWDt4g

Yes, it is seriously that simple. I suggest though, that if you are using thinner yarn, use two strands. I used only one in my practice attempt and was way more satisfied when I worked with two. It’s just easier to keep a grip on when you have double the yarn.

IMG_0156

There’s the practice attempt. Here’s the double strand:

IMG_0158

I ended up making it into a bracelet. This literally took me about five minutes. This would be a great craft to share with kids because it really is so simple.

IMG_0159

Please ignore my horrid fingernails. I picked off all my nail polish the first day of painting class due to my nerves.

About creativechronicle

I enjoy crafting with all kinds of mediums, and I also love to cook. I use my blog as a method of remembering all the creative projects I constantly have going on as well as memorable meals and personal rants. I also have a wonderful Mister who is always assisting in these projects and many adorable furbabies who pretend to help.

5 responses »

  1. I love it! I need to teach my kids how to do that. I’m already teaching my 6 year old daughter to knit with 2 needles, but my almost 5 year old son wants to learn too! Maybe this would be easy enough for him. He doesn’t have the patience to learn the 2 needle method yet! πŸ˜‰

    • I believe a 5 year old could definitely catch on to this method. I plan on trying it out with my niece since she is five. I think it’s great that it’s something both adults and kids can enjoy. I remember learning to knit on pencils from my grandmother at that age. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for being the first person to ever comment my blog! I was very happy to see that. πŸ™‚

  2. Awesome! Let me know if your niece catches on. And you’re welcome! I’m so glad I commented on your blog then. Do I win a prize for being the first? πŸ˜‰ Just kidding…
    Btw, are you on Twitter? I’m also BayAreaKnitter there too. =)

    • I very rarely tweet, and when I do it is from earthsnake89. I use it mostly to just read other tweets. I may eventually set up an account that relates more to this blog. Do you find twitter as a good resource for getting people to look at your blog?

Leave a Reply

