A little late for resolutions…

Standard

Ok, so it took me a little over two weeks, but I believe I’ve come up with my resolutions for the new year. Drumroll, please!

1) Less planning, but more routines.
2) Try new things!

Yes, that’s it. Let’s go a little more in depth, shall we? They are slightly more complicated than just two resolutions.

1 – Less planning, but more routines:

For as long as I can remember, I planned out every aspect of my life and strived to make everything happen according to schedule. I was going to finish school within four years, find a great job, and get married (Insert self-reflecting laughter here). At this point I feel like I should start rapping the theme to Fresh Prince, “Now this is a story all about how my life got twisted upside down…” While I am in my last semester and graduating within four years, everything else is up in the air and out the door. I have no idea what to do after I graduate. The economy has kicked my career path right in the rear, and all I can say when people ask what I’m going to do after graduation is, “More school?” Hello, expensive safety net aka grad school. As for the marriage, hahahaha! No, thank you. I believe I’ve learned that lesson. I ditched the failing engagement months ago, and I honestly believe it has led to a better, more spontaneous me. I’ve left plans behind, and opted for an uncertain career path and a beautiful, budding relationship that refuses to mention the “M” word. Perfect.

So how about the second part of that resolution – more routines? I’m not contradicting myself here, I promise. I just want to give myself something that I feel like I am accomplishing. I want hobbies that I can build on, and I’ve started new routines in several ways.

First, blogging – which obviously from this post, is becoming more personal rant with a sprinkling of creative flair for crafts and food. Fine by me, we’ll just see where it goes.

Second, while determined to lose the college weight by graduation, I have happened upon a lovely *FREE* site (because everything is more lovely when it’s free, right?) by the name of SparkPeople. I can use it either through the actual website or my iPod touch, and it tracks the meals I eat, calories and other nutrition facts that I take in, and my exercise (haha! yeah, should probably start doing that some). I’ve entered my goal, and it tells me how to achieve it. Thirty pounds in four months, you heard me right…I want this to happen. You get your very own page, and can interact with others as they work towards achieving their own goal. My page is pretty sparse so far, but I’ll build it as time goes on. http://www.sparkpeople.com/mypage.asp?id=EARTHSNAKE1989

Another routine project that I’m beginning is the 365 Project. For those of you who haven’t heard of it, the basic concept is to take one picture each day for a year. While I am by no means a professional photographer and the majority of photos I post to any site including this one come from my low resolution cam in my iPod, it is inspiring to think what it will be like to look back on an entire year in photographs. This is only Day 2 for me, but I am just giddy with excitement. I posted a picture of the dinner I made tonight just minutes ago, and I already have two comments from random people! Goody goody gumdrops, this is exciting! http://365project.org/earthsnake89/365

 

2 – Try new things!

*Deep breath in* Confession time…I’m stubborn. Yes, how horrible is that? I get so set in my ways I refuse to try new things or break out of what I’m used to. Sadly, this includes with food. I started today as a journey of firsts.

Today, for the first time in my entire life, I ate an omelette. Shocking, yes! It was a small, itty bitty, tiny baby step towards getting over my strange mixing foods phobia. Lately, I’d seen so many omelets prepared on Food Network that it started to not look half bad. I couldn’t bring myself to mix any meat within my own omelette, but I did make one for my father that had ham, cheese, and sun dried tomatoes. I really start gagging at the thought of any meat within egg though, so for my great venture I opted for these ingredients: spinach, sauteed mushrooms, sauteed onions, and sun dried tomatoes.

IMG_0149

Not too bad. I was able to get down about half of it before work, and I passed off the rest to my mother. I did it. I conquered the omelette. Been there, done that. Not something I would eat on a regular basis, but every now and then I think I could do it.

IMG_0150

Score! So I continued the day with another “new thing”. I’ve never before eaten eggplant. I’m not even sure why. It’s not a veggie that was ever prepared in my home (most likely because my mom secretly wouldn’t know what to do with one *teehee*). I decided to try my hand at eggplant parmesan. I must say, I am so glad I did. LOVED it! I could almost look past the fact that I was eating a meal without meat, which is a rarity. I baked instead of frying the breaded eggplant, and it had a perfect crunch to it. The sauce is homemade, as always, and for another twist I decided to cook up some more of the spinach I had bought for the omelette and add it to the pan. Yum yum!

IMG_0153

That cheese was so perfectly gooey! I was on a major veggie kick after being deprived of them this week, so I also made a side of asparagus. I baked the asparagus in a mixture of garlic, butter, soy sauce, and a tiny bit of balsamic vinaigrette dressing. The meal all together felt so light but filling. Delightful, even without any meat (although I do plan on making a veal parmesan in the very near future)!

IMG_0154

Leave a Reply

