Chopra, Elephants, and more to come…

Standard

It has been an overwhelming week trying to get back into a regular schedule. Classes resumed and are still switching around, which makes getting my free time on track a little tricky. Not to mention we’re getting a good bulk of that snow storm, and my heater was broken for four days. It’s been lovely. At least there’s been a little time to muse, yet not much time to create. Hopefully, that changes soon.

I’ve been sporadically working on the T.S. Eliot quilt, but tonight I put it aside and picked up my journal. It’s dawned on me that this may turn out to be both the most stressful and enjoyable semester I’ve had for the fact that right before graduating I’m getting in classes that I feel will open me more and expose me to more of what I already enjoy. There’s a painting class (desperately needed! haha), theatre courses, and even one class titled Creative Journal…which doesn’t begin till next week, but I am eagerly anticipating. I think this semester I can truly take time to create myself in the form I’ve wanted, thus inspiring the base for this page (with the lovely Deepak Chopra quote):

IMG_0106

While sitting in a professor’s office, I noticed her mobile of elephants and was reminded of a gift from a long time ago. Upon returning from NYC, a friend had brought me back a string of decorative elephants from SOHO. I’d proudly hung them on my wall until my young niece had jerked at them one day and the decoration fell apart. I kept it, hoping one day to repair it, and today I pulled it out. I discarded the string and beads that had held the elephants together and have decided these beautiful elephants deserve to be upcycled. How? I’m not quite sure yet. Possibly a mobile similar to the professor’s. I’m open to any suggestions. Aren’t they just gorgeous though?

IMG_0100

Leave a Reply

